FESTIVE SEASON: PACE Announces The Snow Queen: Paisley’s Family Panto That’s Cool As Can Be

This Christmas, PACE Theatre Company is delighted to announce its annual pantomime will be The Snow Queen. A festive treat for adults and children alike, this icy tale of a queen who is up to snow good will run from 27 November to 31 December, featuring hilarious characters, fantastic original music and a supporting chorus of young actors.

 CHRIS ALEXANDER (Martha and White, Catherine Wheels) will reprise his role as dame, Widow Swanky, having proved a hit with audiences since his debut performance in 2017’s PACE panto (Jack and the Beanstalk and Snow White). He’ll appear alongside a stellar ensemble cast including: DUNCAN BROWN (Mammy Goose, Tron; Chick Whittington, macrobert), SARAH MCCARDIE (River City; Cinderella, Motherwell Theatre), SHANNON SWAN (Glasgow Girls; Outlander) and KARA SWINNEY (Sunshine on Leith, tour).

 PACE is pleased to welcome ANDY MCGREGOR as writer and director. Andy is a playwright, director and composer who has been making a name for himself creating work for family audiences, and in particular Christmas shows for venues such as the Citizens Theatre and macrobert arts centre.

 The Snow Queen will be produced and musically directed by ALAN ORR, whose comic performances were at the heart of PACE pantos for many years, while regular collaborator FRASER LAPPIN will bring his inimitable flair to the set and costume design.

Alan Orr said, “We’re incredibly proud that the PACE panto has become such an institution for Renfrewshire audiences at Christmas. It’s the perfect opportunity for families and friends to get together and celebrate the festivities. We’ve gathered together a fantastic team to create this year’s panto, and we’re confident that there will be something for everyone to enjoy!”

The cast will be completed by 4 teams of young actors handpicked from PACE’s core youth theatre groups, enhancing the production with their boundless energy.

This year’s schedule will also feature the Company’s first relaxed performance; ideal for anyone who would benefit from a more relaxed performance environment, including those with an Autistic Spectrum Condition, sensory and communication disorders, or a learning disability. During the performance the lights in the theatre will be dimmed so that it’s not too dark, there will be a more relaxed approach to noise and movement from the audience, and we will make small changes to the lights and sound (such as taking out strobes lights) so that the performance is more accessible for anyone with sensory sensitivities.

PACE Theatre Company presents

THE SNOW QUEEN

Written and directed by Andy McGregor

Wed 27 November – Tue 31 December 2019 (not Sundays)

 

A family pantomime for all ages!

 

General Booking: 0300 300 1210 | https://www.renfrewshireboxoffice.ticketsolve.com

Group Booking: 0345 130 5218

 

PRICING
Tickets from £10 – £27.50 (booking fee applies)

Group bookings – Buy 15 tickets and get one free.

Schools & Nurseries – Teachers go FREE to any Band A show *Max of 1 teacher for every 10 children

 

CAST

Chris Alexander          Widow Swanky

Duncan Brown            Percy

Sarah McCardie          Multi-role

Shannon Swan           Persephone

Kara Swinney              The Snow Queen

 

CREATIVE TEAM

Andy McGregor          Writer & Director

Alan Orr                      Producer & Musical Director

Pauline Ramsay         Stage Manager & Lyricist

Angela Orr                  Assistant Director

Fraser Lappin              Set & Costume Designer

Emma Armstrong        Lighting Design

Grant Mason               Executive Producer

 

PERFORMANCE SCHEDULE

Wed 27 Dec: 7pm

Thu 28 Nov: 7pm

Fri 29 Nov: 10am and 7pm

Sat 30 Nov: 11am, 3pm and 7pm

Mon 2 Dec: 6pm*

Tue 3 Dec: 10am and 7pm

Wed 4 Dec: 10am, 2pm and 7pm

Thu 5 Dec: 1pm and 7pm

Fri 6 Dec: 10am and 7pm**

Sat 7 Dec: 11am, 3pm and 7pm

Mon 9 Dec: 1pm and 7pm

Tue 10 Dec: 10am and 7pm

Wed 11 Dec: 10am and 7pm

Thu 12 Dec: 1pm and 7pm

Fri 13 Dec: 10am and 7pm

Sat 14 Dec: 11am, 3pm and 7pm

Mon 16 Dec: 1pm and 7pm

Tue 17 Dec: 10am, 2pm and 7pm

Wed 18 Dec: 10am and 7pm

Thu 19 Dec: 10am and 7pm

Fri 20 Dec: 3pm and 7pm

Sat 21 Dec: 11am, 3pm and 7pm

Mon 23 Dec: 3pm and 7pm

Tue 24 Dec: 11am, 3pm and 7pm

Fri 27 Dec: 3pm and 7pm

Sat 28 Dec: 11am, 3pm and 7pm

Mon 30 Dec: 3pm and 7pm

Tue 31 Dec: 11am, 3pm and 7pm

*Relaxed performance

**Gala performance

IMAGE: Mihaela Bodlovic