CLASSICAL FOCUS – BBC SSO: Afternoon Performance 1 – Schumann Cello Concerto with Johannes Moser

BBC SSO 2019/20: Afternoon Performance 1 – Schumann Cello Concerto

Thursday 10 October 2019, 2.00PM

Tickets – £13.50 in advance (£16.50 on day) 

Under 16s must be accompanied by an adult.

Passions ran deep in the Romantic era, and a simple dance rhythm could be enough to set hearts pounding. Weber’s Invitation to the Dance begins with quiet courtesy, but in Berlioz’s silken,
glittering orchestration it positively whirls you off your feet. And Brahms starts his Piano Quartet
with three movements of mellow emotion – before suddenly cutting loose in the wildest, craziest
folk-dance he ever wrote. Schoenberg loved this piece, and his uproariously entertaining orchestral version doesn’t stint on either colour or panache. Hearing is believing: and that goes double when guest conductor Alexander Vedernikov joins the distinguished German cellist Johannes Moser in Schumann’s ardent Cello Concerto.

Weber (orch. Berlioz)
Invitation to the Dance
Cello Concerto
Brahms (orch. Schoenberg)
Piano Quartet in G minor

Johannes Moser cello
Alexander Vedernikov conductor