WHAT’S ON MAY: FRED MACAULAY – THIRTY YEARS ON TOUR

In May 1988 at the age of 31, Fred MacAulay looked at how his life was going and decided to do something radical. Working as a Financial Accountant and Company Secretary unbelievably just wasn’t fulfilling enough!

So, he entered a ‘So You Think You’re Funny’ competition at Glasgow’s Mayfest and with scarcely 5 minutes of his own material walked on stage as a stand-up comedian for the very first time.

Within a short couple of years, the young father of three (even younger) children, was MC’ing The Comedy Store in London and decided that he should hang up his Accountancy boots/gloves/pencils/calculators once and for all and since 1st Feb 1993 he’s been a full time comedian, sometime radio host, tv show panellist/host and writer.

A regular at Edinburgh Fringe and with many tours under his belt, people around the UK and abroad will be familiar with Fred’s humour. A mixture of satire and observational comedy has kept Fred at the forefront of the UK Comedy scene for the last three decades.

To celebrate the 30th anniversary of Fred’s initiation into the world of stand-up comedy he’s put together a small tour of some of his favourite venues around Scotland for his third successive summer tour. “I used to do my tours in the Autumn around England, but I’ll be honest……you soon tire of dark autumn evenings on the road to places that even the locals have never heard of!”

This tour takes in Orkney and Shetland. The Borders and the Highlands. Cities and towns. And villages. “I’ll go anywhere that’ll have me……It’s like having a summer holiday with a wee bit of work thrown in. And yes, the golf clubs will be in the back of the car.” (Some, who have seen Fred play golf, might say that’s the best place for them!!)

Acknowledged as one of the country’s finest stand-ups, this tour will be a welcome chance for fans to catch up with Fred’s views on what’s going on in the world (What IS going on in the world???) and equally another chance for Fred’s (still growing) fanbase to expand with new fans.

St Andrews, Byre Theatre Sat 5th May
Largs, Barrfields Theatre Fri 11th May
Rutherglen, Rutherglen Town Hall Fri 25th May
Langholm, Buccleuch Centre Sun 27th May
Port Ellen (Isle of Islay), Ramsay Hall Tues 29th May
Ayr, Gaiety Theatre Wed 30th May
Findhorn, Universal Hall Sat 2nd June
Inverness, Eden Court Sun 3rd June
Peebles, Eastgate Theatre Fri 8th June
Perth, Perth Theatre Sat 9th June
Shetland, Mareel Fri 15th June
Paisley, Paisley Arts Centre Sat 16th June
Arbroath, Webster Memorial Theatre Sun 17th June
Stirling, Tolbooth Sat 23rd June
Kilmarnock, The Park Hotel Sun 24th June
Berwick-Upon-Tweed, The Maltings Sat 7th July
Orkney, Orkney Theatre Fri 13th July
Dunfermline, Carnegie Hall Sat 14th July
Cumnock, Town Hall Sat 22nd Sept
Pitlochry, Festival Theatre Sun 23rd Sept
Strathaven, Town Mill Arts and Heritage Centre Fri 28th Sept

Age restriction: 16+